Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

Stravinsky, IgorPetrushka (Petrouchka) (1910-11, rev.1946-47) 35'
Burlesque in four scenes

Music Text      Deutsch
Scenario by Igor Stravinsky and Alexandre Benois

original version:4(III,IV=picc).4(IV=corA).4(IV=bcl).4(IV=dbn)-4.2.2crt.3.1-timp.perc(7):xyl/tam-t/tamb/tambourin/BD/glsp/tgl/cyms/SD-cel-pft-2harps-strings; revised version:3(III=picc).2.corA.3(III=bcl).2.dbn-
Abbreviations (PDF).

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Théâtre du Châtelet, Paris
Michel Fokine, choreographer / Ballets Russes / Orchestre du Théâtre du Châtelet / Pierre Monteux

Repertoire Note  
Stravinsky first envisioned "a puppet suddenly endowed with life, exasperating the patience of the orchestra with diabolical cascades of arpeggi." The puppet became Petrushka, the Slavic Pierrot – in Stravinsky's works, "the immortal and unhappy hero of every fair in all countries." As theater, Petrushka is both comic and harrowing. In concert, the four scenes of the ballet are typically performed complete – but are readily compressed. According to Eric Walter White: "When a shorter version is preferred, one can start with the Legerdemain Scene in Scene One followed by the Russian Dance and Scenes Two and Four. In order to shorten the final movement, Stravinsky occasionally authorized the use of the special nine-bar concert ending after the Masqueraders' Scene."

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to Boosey & Hawkes/Joseph Horowitz.

News stories for this title :

 Stravinsky's Petrushka is animated at the Komische Oper

Mailing List

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores

FAQ | Contact Us | Links | About Us | Shop Directory | Careers | Terms of use | RSS Index