Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

Glanert, Detlev: Das Holzschiff (The Wooden Ship) (2008-2010) 100'
Opera in one act

Music Text


Libretto by Christoph Klimke, based on the the novel by Hans Henny Jahnn (G)


S,M,T,Bar,B; dancers; chorus; 3(II,III=picc).1.corA.1.bcl.3(III=dbn)-

Abbreviations (PDF)


This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

For full details on this stagework, including synopsis and roles, please visit our Opera section.

World Premiere

Opernhaus, Nürnberg
Johann Kresnik, director / Staatstheater Nürnberg / Guido Johannes Rumstadt

Press Quotes


“Glanert and his librettist skilfully compress Jahnn’s poetic-utopian vision... into 90 minutes of gripping music theatre… All the ingredients of a thrilling seafarer story are present, as it sails powerfully and sensually in the wake of nautical horror stories... an unstintingly acclaimed successful first performance at the Nuremberg Staatstheater.” (Thomas Heinold, Nürnberger Zeitung, 11 Oct 2010)

“An exciting operatic thriller... The destination of ship, cargo and crew is in truth completely unknown. After an hour-and-a-half the ship has sunk, the engagement between Gustav and Ellena is off, the bride has disappeared, and the bridegroom swims on a single plank with sailor Alfred Tutein towards the rosy dawn of a new future and liaison. By then, we have experienced a tale of mystery and deception, of sexual obsession and dissolution.” (Uwe Mitsching, Nürnberger Nachrichten, 11 Oct 2010)

“For Glanert’s one-acter, Christoph Klimke has condensed, transformed and lyricised the novel and created space for dance interludes: the experienced opera composer knows how to structure an evening full of contrast, yet unified. The musical protagonist is naturally the sea, unpredictably roaring, programmatically suggestive in the orchestral spray and tumult...” (Gerhard R. Koch, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, 12 Oct 2010)

"...the subject is really crying out to be set to music, Detlev Glanert, who with a dozen operas in his career no longer has to prove himself, has no trouble in painting the picture of a veritable seascape with illustrative opulence. Here, the orchestral waves roar, flutter-tongued storm winds take possession of all instrumental groups, personal motifs pervade the scenery, everything sounds scarily good..." (Juan Martin Koch, Donaukurier, 11 Oct 2010)

Email Newsletters

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores