Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

Glanert, DetlevKonzert für Harfe und Orchester (2016-17) 23'
for harp and small orchestra

I. Aulos
II. Epiphanie
III. Komos

1(=picc).1.corA.2(II=bcl).1(=dbn)- (C)/BD/SD/glsp/sizzle cymbal/wdbl-cel-strings(min.
Abbreviations (PDF).

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Cultural Centre, Hong Kong
Florence Sitruk, harp / City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong / Yang Jiao

Programme Note      Deutsch
As one of the world's oldest instruments, the harp carries with it a mythological and ancient past that is particularly associated with the Mediterranean regions of Europe.
This concerto in three seamlessly connected movements draws on these origins.
The first movement, "Aulos" (an ancient double-reed instrument), introduces a principal motive in two voices that runs through the entire concerto; a contrasting theme leads to an animated development section that in its turn produces a third, lyrical theme.
In the second movement, "Epiphanie" ("Epiphany"), this cantabile theme is subjected to eleven variations.
The third movement, "Komos" (a bacchanalian celebration), brings together all the motives and themes in the form of a dance, culminating in a peaceful coda structured as a long crescendo.
The work was commissioned by the harpist Florence Sitruk.
Thomas Tangler (translation: Timothy Jones)

Mailing List

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores

FAQ | Contact Us | Links | About Us | Shop Directory | Careers | Terms of use | RSS Index