Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

Kats-Chernin, ElenaSinging Trees (2015-16) 20'
for string orchestra

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Recital Centre, Melbourne
Australian Chamber Orchestra / Richard Tognetti

Press Quotes  
"The four movements each speak in a different language, but progressed from one to another in an organic fashion that never disturbed the ear. Individually and collectively, they were superficially appealing yet also intellectually satisfying. The title of the work and its movements - 'Maple', 'Ebony', 'Willow' and 'Spruce' - refer to the materials employed in the construction of string instruments, and throughout the music there was plenty of self-reflexive commentary on the string ensemble as a genre, with tips of the hat to baroque structural forms and orchestration techniques, folk fiddle tropes and modernist fragmentation, culminating in a motoric and stirring tutti finale. This work is a most thoughtful and loving ode to strings, for which Kats-Chernin is to be thanked and congratulated." (Nicholas Young, Bachtrack, 08 Dec 2016)

    Mailing List

    Sign up for news updates and offers via email

    Audio Visual Gallery

    Explore our library of 1500 online scores

    FAQ | Contact Us | Links | About Us | Shop Directory | Careers | Terms of use | RSS Index