Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

Stravinsky, IgorConcerto for Piano and Wind Instruments (1923-24) 18'

Abbreviations (PDF).

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Repertoire Note  
Stravinsky wrote this piano concerto for his own use – and performed it more than forty times in the five years following the premiere under Serge Koussevitzky (who had requested such a work). Of the piquant scoring Stravinsky wrote: "The short, crisp dance character of the Toccata [the first movement], engendered by the percussion of the piano, led to the idea that a wind ensemble would suit the piano better than any other combination. In contrast to the percussiveness of the piano, the winds prolong the piano's sound as well as providing the human element of respiration." The concerto begins with a slow processional of enormous gravity; the ensuing toccata explodes with a high trumpet blast. These polarities are retained: the middle movement is a sonorous Largo, the finale a breathless Allegro.

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to Boosey & Hawkes/Joseph Horowitz.

Mailing List

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery
Get Adobe Flash player

Explore our library of over 1000 online scores

FAQ | Contact Us | Links | About Us | Shop Directory | Careers | Terms of use | RSS Index