Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

MacMillan, JamesKiss on Wood (1993) 9'
for violin and piano

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Harrogate Festival
Madeleine Mitchell, violin / John Lenehan, piano

Composer's Notes  
Kiss on Wood is a short, static and serene meditation for violin and piano. Lasting about eight minutes it is an ornamental and highly elongated paraphrase on the Good Friday versicle, Ecce lignum crucis in quo salus mundi pependit: Venite adoremus (Behold the wood of the cross on which the saviour of the world was hung: come let us adore him). This is sung as the crucifix is slowly unveiled and before the people are invited forward to kiss the wood of the cross. The music and title are devotional an intent but can equally represent a gesture of love on the wooden instruments making this music.

James MacMillan

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to the composer

Mailing List

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores

FAQ | Contact Us | Links | About Us | Shop Directory | Careers | Terms of use | RSS Index