• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Grieghallen, Bergen
Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra / Ryan Wigglesworth
Programme Note
Repertoire Note

<ALIGN=LEFT>If Schoenberg’s orchestration of Brahms’s G minor Piano Quartet is considered to be a masterpiece, then Holloway’s orchestration of the Sonata for two pianos, later the F minor Piano Quintet, is a close runner-up. Composed during the period in which Brahms was groping to find his First Symphony, Holloway has used a standard Brahmsian orchestra – only the cor anglais is an interloper – to create a version that is "faithful in spirit if not in letter" and thus bring one of Brahms’s greatest works to a wider public.

Repertoire Note by Peter Marchbank

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications