Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

Maxwell Davies, PeterThe Martyrdom of St Magnus (1976) 82'
Chamber opera in nine scenes

Music Text  
Libretto by the composer after the novel by George Mackay Brown (E,G)

M,T,2Bar,B fl(=picc,afl).cl(=bcl)-hn.2tpt-perc(1):marimba/glsp/crot/2SD/ rototoms/2BD/pedal timp/2Chin.cym/2susp.cym(bowed)/ Burmese nipple gongs/2Japanese gongs/tam-t(with soapdish)/blackboard/ sandpaper/3 pairs claves (played by singers off-stage)-keyboards(1): hpd,keyboard carillon (or cel),cel,autoharp (or zither),upright pft,( =flex,railway whistle)-guitar(=tabor)-vla.vlc.db.
Abbreviations (PDF).

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

For full details on this stagework, including synopsis and roles, please visit our Opera section.

World Premiere
St Magnus Cathedral, Kirkwall, Orkney
Murray Melvin, director / The Fires of London / Peter Maxwell Davies

Repertoire Note  
by Paul Griffiths

Magnus was a twelfth-century earl of the Orkney Islands, a Viking unusual for his pacifism, martyred in a dynastic struggle. The opera is a presentation of his story, based on George Mackay Brown's novel Magnus and devised to be played continuously, with a quite simple, stylized staging. In form the opera is somewhat liturgical, though often fiercely dramatic in its action and in its vocal comportment. The instrumental writing, too, is thoroughly virtuoso, being intended for The Fires of London with guitar and brass.

Mailing List

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores

FAQ | Contact Us | Links | About Us | Shop Directory | Careers | Terms of use | RSS Index