Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

Holloway, RobinFive Haydn Miniatures (1999) 12'
on flute-clock originals

2fl(II=picc).cl-pft(=optional cel)-2vln.vla.vlc.
Abbreviations (PDF).

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Jubilee Hall, Aldeburgh
Composers Ensemble / Andrew Parrott

Composer's Notes  
This set of five little pieces for small ensemble was written in 1999 at the suggestion of John Woolrich to go in a concert inspired by "mechanical music" - machines, clocks, music-boxes, etc. He drew all the contributors' attention to the volume in Haydn's collected works of chimes, tootles, sonneries, for the mechanical organs in domestic clocks, and suggested, rightly, that we would find suitable and charming material there to play with. My choice fell upon a sort of toy "march"; a fragile "arietta"; a solid/stolid "menuetto"; a tender "adagietto"; and a mock-academic "fugue". All have been deconstructed and re-assembled in cubistic fashion (and the fugue is more than twice as long as its source): but the letter of the originals is always recognisable, and their spirit lovingly preserved.

Robin Holloway

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to the composer

Mailing List

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores

FAQ | Contact Us | Links | About Us | Shop Directory | Careers | Terms of use | RSS Index