Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

Holloway, Robin: Serenade in G op. 64 - (septet version) (1986) 12'
for string sextet and double-bass


2 violins, 2 violas, 2 cellos, 1 double-bass

Abbreviations (PDF)


This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere

University of Keele
Ambitus / Michael Bell

Composer's Notes

This Serenade for string sextet with optional double-bass was written April-May 1986, though its opening idea and some of the subsidiary material had been in the back of my mind for some years, awaiting the right place. The music plays continuously, contrasting episodes opening out from each other, the whole contained within the continuity of the long opening melody and its various returns in the manner of interlinked stories in the Arabian Nights. The episodes balance vigour, even turbulence, with playfulness and tenderness (one is marked heimlich – "secretly"), and the overall character is sunny and relaxed. This deliberate pursuit of amicability and sweetness is a direct result of hostile journalistic criticism of a previous Serenade of mine for attempting these unfashionable qualities. My reaction was not to obey and desist, but on the contrary to go for them the more completely. The Serenade in G is dedicated affectionately to my colleague Hugh Wood.

Robin Holloway

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to the composer

Email Newsletters

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores