Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

Reich, Steve: Runner (2016) 16'
for large ensemble

Scoring total of 19 musicians (two ensembles)

Abbreviations (PDF)


This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere

Royal Opera House, London
Wayne McGregor, choreographer / Royal Ballet / Koen Kessels

Composer's Notes

Runner, for a large ensemble of winds, percussion, pianos and strings was completed in 2016 and is about 16 minutes in duration. While the tempo remains more or less constant, there are five movements , played without pause, that are based on different note durations. First even sixteenths, then irregularly accented eighths, then a very slowed down version of the standard bell pattern from Ghana, fourth a return to the irregularly accented eighths and finally a return to the sixteenths but now played as pulses by the winds for as long as a breath will comfortably sustain them. The title was suggested by the rapid opening and my awareness that, like a runner, I would have to pace the piece to reach a successful conclusion.

-Steve Reich, 2016

Commissioned by Royal Opera House Covent Garden; Ensemble Signal through New Music USA's Commissioning Music/USA program, made possible by generous support from the Mary Flagler Cary Charitable Trust, the Ford Foundation, the Francis Goelet Charitable Lead Trusts, New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, New York State Council on the Arts, the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, and the Helen F. Whitaker Fund; Cal Performances, University of California, Berkeley; Washington Performing Arts, with the support of the Library of Congress Dina Koston and Roger Shapiro Fund; and Ensemble Modern, with kind support by the City of Frankfurt am Main

Email Newsletters

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores