Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

Machover, Tod: Death and the Powers (2010) 90'
one-act opera

Music Text

Libretto by Robert Pinsky and Randy Weiner


1(=picc).1(=corA).1(=bcl).0- marimba/xyl/crot/3susp.cym/BD/2TD(med/low)/2gong(low F#)/low Ab)/maraca-2keyboard-strings( (robotic multi-stringed instrument), System (interactive and responsive set), Disembodied performance (real-time voice transformation for Simon, and interactive body-monitoring systems for Simon and Nicholas)

This work requires additional technological components and/or amplification.

Abbreviations (PDF)


This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

For full details on this stagework, including synopsis and roles, please visit our Opera section.

World Premiere

Salle Garnier, Monte Carlo, Monaco
Diane Paulus, director / American Repertory Theater / Gil Rose

Press Quotes

"This is a show unlike anything you have ever seen or heard before ... Death and the Powers is a must-see for anybody who cares about the exciting new techno-driven directions music theater is taking in the early 21st century."
— John von Rhein, Chicago Tribune

"Death and the Powers doesn't point the way to a new era of opera. It's there. Now."
— David Patrick Stearns, Philadelphia Inquirer

"Technological wonders go only so far towards achieving results in the opera house ... Yet the quality of Machover’s music, steeped in the language of Elliott Carter and Pierre Boulez, wedded to an imaginative libretto by Robert Pinsky, is what makes the opera worth seeing"
— George Loomis, Financial Times

Email Newsletters

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores