Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue


Borowski: orchestral Sérac premiered in Donaueschingen

(January 2016)

BorowskiSeracKetterer.jpg The newest orchestral work by Johannes Boris Borowski, named Sérac after the threatening columns of glacial ice, was premiered at the Donaueschingen Music Days in October.

The dangerous instability of mountain ice inspired Sérac, the new orchestral work by Johannes Boris Borowski, premiered at the Donaueschingen Music Days in October under the baton of Peter Eötvös. The 25-minute score was the latest in a series of prestigious commissions for the Berlin-based composer who signed with Boosey & Hawkes in 2013.

"Séracs are tremendous columns of ice which can unpredictably collapse, bringing death in their wake. Borowski adopts a similarly daring approach to composing in which, like Richard Strauss, he imposingly engineers large formats and orchestral grandeur, setting powerful structures of sound in motion. This is all organised impressively and effectively, surprise following surprise, offering scherzando motor-rhythms to alleviate the monumental."
Neue Musikzeitung

Borowski’s new work for the Zafraan Ensemble was premiered last month at the Ultraschall Festival in Berlin, and his new string quartet for the Quatuor Diotima is unveiled in Witten in April. Commissions for 2017 include two works celebrating the 75th birthday of Daniel Barenboim with the maestro on the rostrum and at the keyboard.

With a growing international reputation, Johannes Boris Borowski is one of the leading contemporary composers to emerge from Germany in recent years. His intricate and richly imagined works have been premiered under the batons of Pierre Boulez, Susanna Mälkki, Peter Eötvös and George Benjamin, with notable performances in Paris, Brussels, Porto, New York and Chicago.

>  Further information on Work: Sérac

Photo: Priska Ketterer

>  News Search

Mailing List

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores