Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue


Brett Dean: new contract with B & H

(February 2000)

Brett Dean: new contract with B & H

We are pleased to announce that composer Brett Dean has signed an exclusive agreement with Boosey & Hawkes / Bote & Bock to cover all existing and future works. His music has been championed internationally by such conductors as Simon Rattle and Markus Stenz, and performed by the Berlin Philharmonic, London Sinfonietta, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and Australian Chamber Orchestra. He is also a highly accomplished viola player, both as a member of the Berlin Philharmonic and as soloist and chamber musician in concertos and new works by composers including Henze, Kurtág, Rihm and Yun.

Dean was born in Australia in 1961, studied in Brisbane, and graduated from the Queensland Conservatorium of Music in 1982. He travelled to Germany on an Australia Council grant in 1984, and the following year became a permanent member of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. He has been resident in Berlin since, sharing his time between viola performance and an increasingly busy schedule as a composer.

The music of Brett Dean is notable for its instrumental virtuosity and dramatic excitement, and performances have won enthusiastic responses from audiences across wide geographical frontiers. Highlights of his growing output include Carlo (1997), scored for strings, sampler and tape, which hauntingly integrates the music of a Gesualdo madrigal into Dean’s own contemporary idiom. The Berlin Philharmonic performed Carlo under Simon Rattle last June, the work tours to the USA with the Australian Chamber Orchestra including a performance at Lincoln Center in New York on 15 April, and the Los Angeles Philharmonic performs it in May under Markus Stenz. Music from Carlo forms part of Dean’s full-evening ballet score One of a Kind (1998), written for the Nederlands Dans Theater and toured internationally in the choreography by Jiri Kylian. Other works include Ariel’s Music (1995) for clarinet and orchestra, Twelve Angry Men (1996) written for the cellists of the Berlin Philharmonic, and the sound installation Hundreds and Thousands (1999) commissioned for broadcast around the Berlin Kulturforum at the turn of the millennium.

Dean’s most recent orchestral work, the 25-minute Beggars and Angels, was given its first performance on 4 November by the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra conducted by Markus Stenz. The orchestra toured the work in February to Switzerland, Germany and Austria, including concerts in Zürich, Geneva, Stuttgart, Munich, Frankfurt and Linz.

"… an original voice and an expert sense of dramatic timing…" Daily Telegraph

>  Further information on Work: Carlo

>  News Search

Mailing List

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores