• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

Louis Langrée leads the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra in the world premiere of Christopher Rouse’s Symphony No. 6 on October 18-19.

Renowned as the great American symphonist of our time, Christopher Rouse has composed a rich catalog of influential orchestral works marked by extreme emotional depth and colorful orchestration, including 12 concertos for a variety of instrumental soloists and multiple towering symphonies. His sixth and latest symphony, debuting on October 18-19 with the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, is notable for its dark, expressive sound world. Rouse states: “There’s a tragic quality to this piece, and I’m sorry to frustrate people by not saying what it is or why it is.”

The 25-minute Symphony No. 6—the composer’s first-ever four-movement symphony—bears a structural resemblance to Mahler’s Ninth: slow, elegiac outer movements, a moderato second movement, and a highly dramatic, fast-paced third movement.

Rouse notes: “I realized that was the architectural template of Mahler’s Ninth, so how would I salute the original piece? There aren’t any actual quotations from Mahler, but the stuttering, unstable gesture that he uses in his first movement, I carried that over.”

As in many other of his orchestral works, Rouse chooses to feature instruments that are unusual in the symphonic context for deliberate effect. In his Sixth Symphony he spotlights the fluegelhorn, a larger and more mellow member of the trumpet family: It presents the symphony’s opening melodic material and returns later in the first movement, and again near the end of the entire work as a way of bringing the music full circle.

When asked what it means to compose a symphony in the 21st century, Rouse states:

“Great forms and great concepts always have something new to offer. Even by Haydn’s time, he had transformed the symphony from what Sammartini had done a few decades earlier. And then by the 19th century it had become this huge edifice. People have been saying for years that the symphony is dead, classical music is dead, opera is dead, but there’s always something left. Writing a symphony to me is no joke. I didn’t write my first until I was in my 30s, because I hadn’t lived long enough to have anything to say.

“Now I hope to have lived a full enough life to have something to say that is worth perhaps a little of my listeners' time. To live one's life is, it sometimes seems, to spend all of one’s time on a rollercoaster as we try adapting to the sudden, unexpected changes of direction our ‘amusement park ride’ subjects us. (Sometimes those changes aren't always very ‘amusing.’) Nonetheless, it is the very unpredictability of life that makes it so wonderful. While the overall tone of my Sixth Symphony may be rather dark, this is not to say that it isn't meant to have movements of charm and even levity, and I hope that listeners will be able to find meaning in the score's overall embrace of a variety of moods.”

>  Further information on Work: Symphony No.6

Photo: Jeffrey Herman

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications