• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

Plays: 958

for solo voices, choruses and orchestra

  1. Avaritia (complete)

Duration: 01 mins 57 secs

David Wilson-Johnson (speaker), Aga Mikolaj, Ursula Hesse von den Steinen, Gerhard Siegel, Christof Fischesser (singers), Leo van Doeselaar (organ), Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra / Markus Stenz
(P) + © 2017, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra


Text heard on Sample:

(voice from above:)
Hieronymus! Hieronymus Bosch! Mammon!

(soloists and orchestra:)
Ecce torpet probitas,
virtus sepelitur;
fit iam parca largitas,
parcitas largitur;
verum dicit falsitas,
veritas mentitur.

Omnes iura ledunt
et ad res illicitas
licite recedunt.
Regnat avaritia,
regnant et avari;
mente quivis anxia
nititur ditari,
cum sit summa gloria
censu gloriari.

Omnes iura ledunt
et ad prava quelibet
impie recedunt.
Multum habet oneris
do das dedi dare;
verbum hoc pre ceteris
norunt ignorare
divites, quos poteris
mari comparare.

Omnes iura ledunt
et at mala devia
licite recedunt.

Further Information on this Work: Any reproduction, publication, further distribution or public exhibition of audio materials provided at this site, in whole or in part, is strictly prohibited.

Featured Clips

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications