Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Sean Shepherd named New York Philharmonic's inaugural Kravis Emerging Composer

(July 2012)

ShepherdJamieKinghamNews.jpg New York Philharmonic will perform a new commissioned work in 2013–14 season

American composer Sean Shepherd has been named the 2012 Kravis Emerging Composer by the New York Philharmonic. Shepherd is the first recipient of this newly created honor, which awards him $50,000 and a commission to write a new piece for the orchestra, which will be premiered during the 2013–2014 season.

The New York Philharmonic has supported Shepherd’s music in recent years, as the orchestra commissioned him to write These Particular Circumstances in 2010 for the inaugural season of CONTACT!, their recently established series devoted to contemporary music. In reviewing that work, the New York Times stated: "There were plenty of striking moments within the detailed, busy work, with its kaleidoscopic use of orchestral color.” Said Shepherd about the Kravis Emerging Composer award and new commission: “The Philharmonic has played a part in my musical imagination for as long as I can remember, and to be recognized as an emerging voice with this generous grant is an exceptional privilege and joy.”

Shepherd’s These Particular Circumstances will be performed at this summer’s Festival of Contemporary Music at Tanglewood, along with two chamber works, Quartet for Oboe and Strings and Trio.

> Further information on Sean Shepherd

Photo credit: Jamie Kingham

>  News Search

Email Newsletters

Sign up for news updates and offers via email


Explore our library of 1500 online scores