Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

Prokofieff, SergeScythian Suite (Ala et Lolly) op. 20 (1914-15) 20'
for orchestra

3(III=afl).picc.3.corA.3(III=Eb).bcl.3.dbn-8.5(4)(III=Ebtpt).4.1- timp.perc(9 or 4/5):glsp/xyl/2cyms/tam-t/tgl/BD/SD/tamb- 2harps-cel-pft-strings.
Abbreviations (PDF).

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Repertoire Note  

Prokofieff’s first ballet for Diaghilev, Ala and Lolly, was meant to be a stirring portrayal of ancient man in a mythic prehistoric Russia, rather in the manner of The Rite of Spring. When Diaghilev cancelled the project, Prokofieff reshaped the material into this highly imposing and brilliantly effective four-movement suite, one of his most lavish orchestral scores.

Despite the Stravinskian story-line and the unusually expansive instrumental line-up, this popular music is unmistakably the young Prokofieff. It abounds in soaring melodies, flowing and pulsing streams of harmony, and ends with a grandiose Hollywood ‘sunrise’. Later, even this fearless composer came to think the technicolor ending rather over the top. But who cares? This is music guaranteed to have the audience on their feet and cheering as the last chord dies away.

Note by Gerard McBurney

Mailing List

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores

FAQ | Contact Us | Links | About Us | Shop Directory | Careers | Terms of use | RSS Index