Boosey & Hawkes Composer News

Search Catalogue

D'Rivera, PaquitoFantasías Messiaenicas (2006) 12'
for solo clarinet, jazz trio and orchestra

solo clarinet, jazz trio 1.1.0.tsax.0-1.1.0.btrbn.0-timp.perc:xyl/gong/tbells-harp-strings.
Abbreviations (PDF).

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Sala Nezahualcoyotl, Mexico City
Paquito D'Rivera, clarinet; Alon Yavnai, piano / Orquesta Sinfónica de Minería / Carlos Miguel Prieto

Repertoire Note  
The clarinet part in“Fantasias Messiaenicas (Blues for Akoka)” is basically inspired by the mischievous Henri Akoka who was the clarinetist in the premier of Oliver Messiaen’s monumental “Quartet for the End of Time.”  It is told that the Jewish clarinetist had a great sense of humor, and although the “Quartet for the End of Time” is by a French composer, and was written and premiered in an infamous concentration camp during WWII, it is extremely sad and dark.  These new variations and improvisations for clarinet, jazz trio and symphony orchestra, attempt to show the love for life and the humor that characterized Henri, who also played some gigs related to jazz.

My composition pays homage to the victims of the totalitarian regimes throughout the world.

-Paquito D’Rivera

Mailing List

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores

FAQ | Contact Us | Links | About Us | Shop Directory | Careers | Terms of use | RSS Index