Noticias de compositores de Boosey & Hawkes

Búsqueda Catálogo


Chapela: US premiere of new octet Acoussence

(November 2012)

New octet inspired by perfumery and aromas

Enrico Chapela’s new work, Acoussence, receives its US premiere at Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall on December 8, 2012. This new octet for winds and strings is inspired by the smells and aromas of perfumes, as the composer found a unique link between the art of perfumery and the art of sound. The US premiere is performed by members of the Simon Bolivar Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela, presented as part of Carnegie Hall’s Voices from Latin America festival on a program with fellow rising Latin American composers.

Chapela, who hails from Mexico, began composing Acoussence (2012) by looking to the human sense of smell. As perfumes have high notes, mid notes, base notes, and themes, so too does music, he discovered. Chapela then researched scents to match the music for his score, leading to five aromatic accords found in most perfumes: woods, herbs, flowers, fruits and, seeds. The five movements of Acoussence correspond to these five aromatic accords. As Chapela notes: "I used these pitches and rhythms to compose the music, seeking to evoke the general impression that each aromatic accord invoked on me." Further to this idea of bringing music and smell together, the title of the work is a fusion of the words acoustic and essence, relating to both senses.

Chapela’s next new work is for full orchestra, set to be premiered in Beijing, China at the National Centre for the Performing Arts in 2013. His concerto for electric cello and orchestra, MAGNETAR, receives its UK premiere on March 28 by the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, featuring Johannes Moser.

> Further information on Enrico Chapela

> Más información sobre la obra: Acoussence

Photo credit: Bernd Uhlig

> Buscar noticias


Regístrese para recibir actualizaciones de noticias y ofertas por correo electrónico



Explore nuestra biblioteca con más de 1000 copias de partituras en línea