Search Catalogue


Elliott Carter on Schoenberg and Brahms

Now Playing: High Quality 4:3 (480x360, 820kbps)

Views: 9196

Elliott Carter is internationally recognized as one of the leading American voices of the classical music tradition.

Twice winner of the Pulitzer Prize, first composer to receive the United States National Medal of Arts, one of the few composers ever awarded Germany’s Ernst Von Siemens Music Prize, in 1988 made Commandeur dans l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the government of France, and one of the only living composers elected to the Classical Music Hall of Fame, Mr. Carter has much to celebrate.

Of his more than 130 pieces, Carter has composed about 40 in the past decade. He composed nine new pieces in 2007 and has already completed four more in 2008 with another three in progress. The Carter Centenary festivities continue with more than 600 performances of his works scheduled around the globe.  He is attending many performances throughout the centenary and audiences will have heard a remarkable eleven world premieres in 2008.

Featured Clips

John Adams: Absolute Jest

Source: San Francisco Symphony

Views: 10025

Louis Andriessen: Rosa's Horses

Source: Louis Andriessen

Views: 8538

Adams: Gospel According to the Other Mary

Source: San Francisco Symphony

Views: 234

Reich on Reich

Source: Boosey & Hawkes

Views: 43435

Adams: Death of Klinghoffer ENO preview

Source: English National Opera

Views: 11054

FAQ | Contact Us | Links | About Us | Shop Directory | Careers | Terms of use | RSS Index