Aaron Jay Kernis b. 15/01/1960

/KernisB&WKim PlutiParallelProd.jpg
Aaron Jay Kernis, winner of both the Grawemeyer Award and the Pulitzer Prize, is one of America’s most honoured and acclaimed composers. His music bursts with rich poetic imagery, brilliant instrumental colour, distinctive wit and infectious exuberance.

Works by Aaron Jay Kernis include:
Garden of Light (1999), choral symphony commissioned by Disney for the millennium
Dorma, Ador (2000) for SATB choir, mezzo-soprano solo and optional handbells
Color Wheel (2001) for orchestra
Trio in Red (2001) for clarinet, cello, and piano

"The appeal of his music is clear: he is an eclectic composer who seems to draw on everything from pop forms to the most abstruse modernist styles, and he uses these disparate elements to create works that are colorful and inviting but never simplistic.” — The New York Times