Dai Fujikura

* Young composer quickly gaining international recognition. * Born in Osaka, Japan, studied in the U.K. from the age of 15, resides there still * Has won numerous prestigious competitions, including Germany’s highly sought-after Paul Hindemith Prize * Highlight of 2005: world premiere of Stream State conducted by Pierre Boulez * Describes his music as “melodic” * Purposefully avoids sound world of serialism * Drawn to using spatial separation * Commissioned by Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Intercontemporain, ASKO, and the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, among others

Works by Dai Fujikura include:
Fifth Station (2004) for ensemble
Stream State (2005) for orchestra
Crushing Twister (2006) for orchestra

Looking Ahead: 2008 will see another major commission from the Ensemble Intercontemporain, a piano concerto for the Philharmonia Orchestra (Noriko Ogawa, piano; Martyn Brabbins, conductor), an ensemble work for New York-based International Contemporary Ensemble (I.C.E.), and several chamber works

“Dai Fujikura was selected for a commission by the Lucerne Academy and has lived up to all my expectations. I am sure he has a brilliant future as a composer in front of him.” –Pierre Boulez

“High octane instrumental writing”
--The Guardian, U.K.