ABRSM: Spectrum for Piano Duet


Catalogue No: 9781860969713
Shop Product Code: 254563W
More Product Codes

More Product Codes
ISBN: 9781860969713

Status: Usually despatched within 24 - 48 hours

Subtitle: with CD

Editor: Myers, Thalia

Series: ABRSM Spectrum

Department: Piano, Keyboard & Organ - Piano Solo

Publisher: ABRSM

More Product Details

More Product Details

Spectrum for Piano Duet is a unique collection of contemporary works for piano, four hands. The newly commissioned pieces range in standard from Grade 3 to Diploma and are suitable for pianists of all ages. Seven pieces have easier Secondo parts, for teacher-student and mixed level pairs.

Alongside the established composers represented are six young composers, who have each contributed a variation on Howard Skempton’s theme, ‘Primary Colours’.

A CD is included, containing recording of all pieces, performed by Thalia Myers, Timothy Salter and Edward Liddall. The CD also includes recorded parts for the three pieces composed for piano duet and soundtrack.

The highly successful Spectrum series was established by ABRSM and Thalia Myers in 1996, and now includes volumes for piano, cello, clarinet and string quartet. The aim of the series remains unchanged: to commission some of the finest composers to writes pieces of modest length and difficultly, while preserving the essential characteristics of their compositional style.


Contents and Reviews

  • Fishing By Moonlight [Jeremy Dale Roberts]
  • Kimono Cottage [Janet Davey]
  • Lopsided Waltz [Gabriel Jackson]
  • Left vs. Right [Roderik de Man]
  • Simul [Naomi Pinnock]
  • Silhouette [David Sawer]
  • Primary Colours [Howard Skempton]
  • Blue [Mark David Boden]
  • My Little Cat [Ryosuke Karaki]
  • Brushstrokes [James Long]
  • Au-delà du vitrail [Thomas Oehler]
  • Shadow Pattern Set [Daniel Parcell]
  • Palette Mixing [Graham Ross]
  • White Reverie [Victoria Borisova-Ollas]
  • Deux jeunes se promènent à travers le ciel (1929) [Michael Finnissy]
  • Ground Control [Graham Fitkin]
  • Fire-clouds over Százhalombatta [Sadie Harrison]
  • Melodicle Canon No. 4 [Terry Mann]
  • 47 Tucanae [Patrick Nunn]
  • Steerable Grandfather [Timothy Salter]
  • Fractured Landscape [Simon Bainbridge]
  • Four Hands [Philip Cashian]
  • Distant Bells [Andris Dzenitis]
  • Processional [Helen Grime]
  • A moment at dawn [Phillip Neil Martin]
  • A Tre [João Pedro Oliveira]
  • Pari intervallo [Arvo Pärt]