• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

Tamás Benkócs (bassoon)
Nicolaus Esterházy Sinfonia
Béla Drahos, conductor

In perfecting the newly developing form of the Italian solo concerto, Vivaldi wrote nearly five hundred concertos, of which 39 are for the bassoon with strings and continuo.

Within the confines of the threemovement form Vivaldi achieves remarkable variety.

The fast outer movements demand considerable virtuosity as the soloist negotiates the wide leaps and contrasts between the upper and lower registers of the instrument.

The inner slow movements are often in the form of an aria which explores the lyrical, soulful potential of the bassoon.

Volumes 1, 2 and 3 are available on Naxos 8.555937, 8.555938 and 8.557556

Total Playing Time: 00:57:25

You may be interested in

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications