Johann Sebastian Bach: Violin Concerto No.2 in E Major BWV 1042

$10.42 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: EP4593
Shop Product Code: 023100U
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
Violin Concerto No.2 in E Major BWV 1042

Status: Usually shipped within 7 working days

Department: Strings - Violin

Publisher: Peters Edition

More Product Details

More Product Details

Johann Sebastian Bach's Concerto No.2 in E Major BWV 1042 for Violin and Orchestra.

Edition for Violin and Piano reduction, Edtied by Strub.

Published by Edition Peters.


"I assume we are not reviewing the piece but reviewing the overall packaging by Peters Edition.

Firstly, fyi, I'm reviewing this piece from the viewpoint of someone who is playing the Allegro Assai movement for the ABRSM grade 8 violin examination. I've 2 students currently practising this piece and I would be interested to see another edition. I'd be interested to see what the editors have added in the form of bowing and performance directions in other editions. Unfortunately no other editions on sale here in Singapore where I live so I don't have the chance to browse rather than to buy first.

I have only good things to say about the packaging. Timeless cover. Sturdy enough material. I've many Peters Edition books that I've kept for over 40 years and they are still in great condition. The newer ones like this one you may be buying is sturdier.

One thing I didn't like, hence looking for another edition, are the page breaks. Nowadays people don't generally turn pages for exams. I see a lot of photocopies. It used to be an art! I used to practise page turning a lot. This version of the Allegro Assai movement doesn't allow that. Just saying.

Perhaps they could have decreased the font and fitted it all in 2 pages... Just saying..."

Rating: 07/03/2013 By: Annabel Koh