$15.08 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: M060080029
ISMN: 9790060080029
Shop Product Code: 0138889
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
Mikrokosmos 2 Definitive Edition

Status: Usually despatched within 5 working days

Subtitle: English/French/German/Hungarian

Series: Mikrokosmos

Department: Piano, Keyboard & Organ - Piano Solo

Instrumentation: Piano (English, French, German, Hungarian)

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes (London)

More Product Details

More about this work

More Product Details

The definitive edition (1987) of the piano teaching classic. Includes an introduction by the composer's son Peter Bartók. (English/French/German/Hungarian text).

In 1945 Bela Bartok described Mikrokosmos as a cycle of 153 pieces for piano written for "didactic" purposes, seeing them as a series of pieces in many different styles, representing a small world, or as the "world of the little ones, the children".  Stylistically Mikrokosmos reflects the influence of folk music on Bartok's life and the rhythms and harmonies employed create music that is as modern today as when the cycle was written.

The 153 pieces making up Mikrokosmos are divided into six volumes arranged according to technical and musical difficulty.

Major teaching points highlighted in Mikrokosmos 2:
Staccato, legato
Accompaniment in broken triads



"An impressive tribute to the most comprehensive and challenging piano series of this century"
Clavier, November 1990