Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet Op. 130 & Grande Fugue Op. 133 (Set of Parts)

$33.31 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: HN741
Shop Product Code: 198603M
String Quartet Op. 130 & Grande Fugue Op. 133 (Set of Parts)

Status: Usually shipped within 7 working days

Department: Chamber - String Quartet

Publisher: Henle

More Product Details

More Product Details

We have now come full circle – this edition concludes our Urtext series of the complete Beethoven string quartets. The ending of this highly expressive work, at whose centre is the famous “Cavatina,” was originally the “Grand Fugue.” Yet a contemporary critic felt that this was “unintelligible, like Chinese.” At the urging of the publisher Beethoven replaced it with a newly composed finale and published the “Grand Fugue” with a new opus number. Ever since, it has often been performed separately. In order to respect the desire of modern ensembles to be able to perform the Quartet op. 130 in Beethoven's original version, we have included the “Grand Fugue” in this edition.

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!