Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in D minor, op. 125: The Facsimile Edition

Special Offer  

RRP: $869.60 *
Now: $826.12 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: BVK2169
Shop Product Code: 247036R
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
Symphony No. 9 in D minor, op. 125: The Facsimile Edition

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Department: Full Scores & Study Scores - Facsimile Scores

Publisher: Bärenreiter

More Product Details

More Product Details

Barenreiter Facsimile Edition: Beethoven Symphony No. 9 op. 125 Facsimile of the autograph score in the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz, the Beethoven-Haus Bonn and the Bibliothèque nationale de France.

The history of the autograph manuscript reflects an episode in German history:
after storage in various places because of the war, the major parts were returned to Berlin but were initially divided by the Berlin Wall and only reunited in 1990. Martina Rebmann who is the Director of the Music Department at the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin traces this story.

In 1972 the main theme of the last movement was chosen by the Council of Europe as the European anthem and in 1985 it was adopted by the European Community as its official anthem. In 2001 the manuscript was listed in UNESCO’s Memory of the World Register.

For the first time the facsimile presents all the parts of the manuscript including pages preserved in Bonn and Paris as well as the trombone and contrabassoon parts.

With articles by Lewis Lockwood, Jonathan Del Mar and Martina Rebmann. Documenta musicologica II , 42. 422+11 pages of facsimile and 40 pages introduction (English/German/Japanese). format: 37 x 40 cm; half-linen, hardback

“What a joy for all of us to have a readily available facsimile of Beethoven 9 at last. Jonathan Del Mar’s work on the symphonies has become the gold standard of contemporary editing for us all, an astonishing work of scholarship which is miraculously practical.These two virtues are not often bedfellows… I welcome his guiding hand on this new project, and look forward to a fascinating exploration.”

Sir Simon Rattle

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!