$15.25 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: M060097362
ISMN: 9790060097362
Shop Product Code: 171557C
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
Mikrokosmos 6 Definitive Edition

Status: Usually shipped within 7 working days

Subtitle: English/Spanish/Japanese/Portuguese

Series: Mikrokosmos

Department: Piano, Keyboard & Organ - Piano Solo

Instrumentation: Piano (English, Japanese, Spanish, Portuguese)

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes (London)

More Product Details

More about this work

More Product Details

The definitive edition (1987) of the piano teaching classic. Includes an introduction by the composer's son Peter Bartók. (English/Spanish/Portuguese/Japanese text).

In 1945 Bela Bartok described Mikrokosmos as a cycle of 153 pieces for piano written for "didactic" purposes, seeing them as a series of pieces in many different styles, representing a small world, or as the "world of the little ones, the children".  Stylistically Mikrokosmos reflects the influence of folk music on Bartok's life and the rhythms and harmonies employed create music that is as modern today as when the cycle was written.

The 153 pieces making up Mikrokosmos are divided into six volumes arranged according to technical and musical difficulty.

Major teaching points highlighted in Mikrokosmos 6
Divided arpeggios
Minor Seconds
Major Sevenths



"An impressive tribute to the most comprehensive and challenging piano series of this century"
Clavier, November 1990

"A new exciting, definitive edition .. will surely herald a revival of these short pieces as teaching material which can be applied to any piano method"
Music Teacher Magazine