$5.34 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 9780193722507
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
ISBN: 9780193722507
Dark Sleep for piano

Status: Usually despatched within 10 - 12 working days

Department: Piano, Keyboard & Organ - Piano Solo

Instrumentation: Solo piano

Publisher: Oxford University Press

More Product Details

More Product Details

This evocative solo piano piece looks back, as though in some troubled dream, to fragments of Purcell and Tippett. The widely spaced opening notes are interrupted, after only eight bars, by a quick and relentlessly turbulent passage. A brief reference to the opening of Tippett's Fourth Symphony leads into a slower, more expressive section; a predominantly mysterious, even glassy sound world from which emerges the poignant notes of 'Dido's Lament' from Purcell's Dido and Aeneas, now at last momentarily in its correct juxtaposition. Finally, a tiny fragment of the music is spun obsessively until it falls out of control and back into the carefully placed notes of the opening.

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!

Also By This Composer