Lennox Berkeley: Music from Chaucer (score and parts)


Catalogue No: 9780193555020
Shop Product Code: 283926D
More Product Codes

More Product Codes
ISBN: 9780193555020

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Department: Chamber - Mixed Ensemble

Instrumentation: Brass quintet

Publisher: Oxford University Press

More Product Details

More Product Details

A work in five movements, each characterizing a poem by Chaucer. 'Triton's Trumpets', acts as an overture to the suite of pieces, is mainly rather rustic and, as its title implies, much of its music is in the nature of fanfares. Next is a haunting slow waltz, then a very short and very vigorous fanfare. In the fourth movement, 'The Sorrowful Knight', each instrument expresses its individual sorrow. Finally Chaucer himself chatters in a jaunty, innocent style.


Contents and Reviews

Triton's Trumpets
The Grieving Queen
A Fanfare for the Huntsmen
The Sorrowful Knight
The Wakeful Poet