• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

This evocative solo piano piece looks back, as though in some troubled dream, to fragments of Purcell and Tippett. The widely spaced opening notes are interrupted, after only eight bars, by a quick and relentlessly turbulent passage. A brief reference to the opening of Tippett's Fourth Symphony leads into a slower, more expressive section; a predominantly mysterious, even glassy sound world from which emerges the poignant notes of 'Dido's Lament' from Purcell's Dido and Aeneas, now at last momentarily in its correct juxtaposition. Finally, a tiny fragment of the music is spun obsessively until it falls out of control and back into the carefully placed notes of the opening.

You may be interested in

Also By This Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications