Johannes Brahms: Concerto For Violin In D Op. 77 (Urtext Large Score)

Special Offer  

RRP: $47.02 *
Now: $44.67 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: BA9049
Shop Product Code: 2225417
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
Concerto For Violin In D Op. 77 (Urtext Large Score)

Status: Usually despatched within 15 - 20 working days

Series: Barenreiter Urtext Edition

Department: Orchestral & Band - Full Orchestral

Publisher: Bärenreiter

More Product Details

More Product Details

Johannes Brahms's violin concerto, written for his friend Joseph Joachim, has remained a standard in the concert literature since its first performance. No scholarly critical edition of this work has ever been published and therefore the many, sometimes conflicting, sources have never been evaluated for a critical performing edition. Not only Brahms's autograph score, solo part and autograph piano reduction but also his personal copies of the first edition score as well as the first edition orchestral parts have all been consulted. Clive Brown’s edition offers insights into the genesis of the composition and the working relationship between Brahms and Joachim. The critical commentary comments on all discrepancies in the sources.

The critical edition of Brahms's own piano reduction is at the same time a performing edition and includes an informative introduction as well as comments on performance practice.
In addition the piano reduction includes a separate brochure with not only the well known Joachim cadenza but also those by J. Halir, H. Heermann, L. Auer and F. Busoni.
An informative preface (Ger / Eng) with references to performance practice and a critical commentary are included in the edition.

Short text:

This publication contains not only Brahms’ own piano reduction, an Urtext violin part, a second violin part with fingerings and bowings by J. Joachim from his 1905 violin method but also an additional brochure with cadenzas by Brahms’ contemporaries J. Joachim, C. Halir, H. Heermann, L. Auer and F. Busoni. Clive Brown has also provided an enlightening preface on Romantic period performance practice as well as the history of the work and its sources.

- First scholarly critical edition of this standard work
- Critical commentary (Eng)
- Insightful comments on performance practice
- An Urtext violin part and an additional violin part marked with fingering and bowing suggestions by Joseph Joachim
- Valuable cadenza brochure with cadenzas by Joachim, Halir, Heermann, Auer and Busoni


Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!