Johannes Brahms: Trio for Violin, Violoncello and Piano op. 101

Special Offer  

RRP: $28.04 *
Now: $26.64 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: BA9437
Shop Product Code: 260994S
Trio for Violin, Violoncello and Piano op. 101

Status: Usually despatched within 24 - 48 hours

Editor: Hogwood, Christopher

Department: Chamber - Piano Trio

Publisher: Bärenreiter

More Product Details

More Product Details

Christopher Hogwood’s scholarly-critical edition of Brahms’ final and perhaps greatest trio op. 101 is based on two main sources, the first edition and the autograph.
The foreword of this edition presents information on contemporary performance practice; Hogwood has drawn on the comments of Fanny Davis, a Brahms student, to shed light on this. She describes how Brahms played the trio with Joseph Joachim and Robert Hausmann at an informal reading (with Clara Schumann turning pages) in Baden-Baden in approx. 1895.
Davis’ descriptions have much to do with articulation, dynamics and tempo fluctuations; in short exactly those aspects of performance practice where we lack real direction.

- Includes important information on performance practice of the day (Ger/Eng)
- With a detailed critical commentary (Eng)

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!