Brahms, Johannes: Two Sonatas Op. 120 for Clarinet - Edition for Viola and Piano

$29.13 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: HN988
ISMN: M-2018-0988-5
Shop Product Code: 265459W
Two Sonatas Op. 120 for Clarinet - Edition for Viola and Piano

Status: Usually despatched within 24 - 48 hours

Subtitle: Urtext Edition - revised edition

Editor: Voss, Egon & Behr, Johannes

Department: Strings - Viola

Instrumentation: Viola, Piano

Publisher: Henle

More Product Details

More Product Details

Grade Exam Music

This product includes pieces featured in grade exams. Click on a grade to view the full syllabus.

ABRSM Viola from 20168

Perfect Pairing

We owe a debt of gratitude to the clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld for making the elderly Brahms so interested in his instrument. In the 1890s the composer wrote the Trio op. 114, the Quintet op. 115 and the Sonatas op. 120 – three gems in the clarinet chamber music repertoire. Brahms also provided a part for viola as an alternative to the clarinet.
The revision of Henle's edition of the viola version of opus 120 is based on the musical text of the New Brahms Complete Edition and in many respects contains significant improvements: they were able to consult the autograph for the first time; the newly set piano score now contains the viola part; and viola players can benefit from fingerings and bowings by Tabea Zimmermann in the solo part.

Contents and Reviews


Clarinet Sonata (Viola) in F minor op. 120/1 Clarinet Sonata (Viola) in E-flat major op. 120/2