Johannes Brahms: Violin Concerto in D Op 77 (study score)

Special Offer  

RRP: $15.35 *
Now: $14.58 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: TP949
Shop Product Code: 256151K
Violin Concerto in D Op 77 (study score)

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Department: Full Scores & Study Scores - Pocket & Study Scores

Publisher: Bärenreiter

More Product Details

More Product Details

Johannes Brahms’s violin concerto, written for Joseph Joachim, has remained a standard work in concert programmes since its first performance in 1879. Bärenreiter’s scholarly-critical edition, prepared by Clive Brown, reflects not only Brahms’s autograph score, solo part and piano reduction, but also the composer’s personal copies of the first edition score and orchestral parts.

The score, piano reduction, orchestral parts and a critical commentary (BA 9049) were published by Bärenreiter in autumn 2005; this material is now completed with the publication of the study score. The excellent foreword (Eng/Ger), taken from the full score, is included in this study score. It offers insight into the genesis of the composition and the working relationship between Brahms and Joachim.

“The Bärenreiter edition, because of Clive Brown’s extraordinary contribution, is the finest publication I have ever had the privilege to review.”
(ESTA – News & Views)

Detailed instrumentation:
Violin Solo, Flute (2), Oboe (2), Clarinet (in B-flat) (2), Bassoon (2), Horn (4), Trumpet (2), Kettledrum, Violin (2), Viola, Violoncello, Double bass

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!