• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

Nathan Gunn (Billy), Ian Bostridge (Captain Vere), Gidon Saks (Claggart), Neal Davies (Redburn), Jonathan Lemalu (Flint), Matthew Rose (Ratcliffe), Andrew Kennedy (Novice), Matthew Best (Dansker), Roderick Williams (Arthur Jones/Novice's Friend)

London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus, Daniel Harding.

After the award-winning recording of Britten’s Turn of the Screw, released on Virgin Classics in 2002, Daniel Harding and Ian Bostridge meet again around Britten in his great masterpiece, Billy Budd. This new recording is a new asset to the label, which has planned a complete Britten opera cycle.

The opera, in its definitive 2-act version, was recorded during the 2 concert performances at the Barbican Hall on 7th & 9th December 2007. As principal guest conductor, Daniel Harding conducts the London Symphony Orchestra. The all-male cast boasts, along with Ian Bostridge as Captain Vere, American baritone Nathan Gunn in the role of Billy Budd, and Israeli bass-baritone, Gidon Saks, portraying the fiendish Claggart. EMI artist Jonathan Lemalu also contributes to the cast.

You may be interested in


  • Various
    The Art Of Singing, Vol. 1 (Sterling Records Audio CD)

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications