Benjamin Britten: The Burning Fiery Furnace (Full Score)

$60.08 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 057150681X
Shop Product Code: 2009473
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
The Burning Fiery Furnace (Full Score)

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Department: Full Scores & Study Scores - Full Scores

Publisher: Faber Music

More Product Details

More Product Details

Full Score of Benjamin Britten's The Burning Fiery Furnace (1966).

Instrumentation: fl(=picc) - horn.alto trombone - viola.double bass(=babylonian drum) - harp(=little harp) - perc(1) 5small untuned drums/anvil(small untuned steel plate)/2 tuned wood blocks/lyra/glsp/babylonian drum/multiple whip - chamber organ (=small cymbals)

Singers: Nebuchadnezzar(T), Astrologer/the Abbot(bar), Ananias(bar), Misael(T), Azarias(B), Herald/Leader of Courtiers(bar), chorus.

Published by Faber Music.

'The range of the sound Britten draws from his voices and his handful of instruments hangs on in the mind - the flickering stin of his fire music, the stamping pagan violence of the Babylonian march as the players move around the church, the lash of his percussion, the clean treble voice that pierces the sound in the wonderful Benedicite in the furnace. It is a much richer score than Curlew River, and a more accessible one; and to hold the convention of htese church parables with such an expansion of invention is an even more impressive demonstration of mastery.'

~ John Warrack, The Sunday Telegraph, July 7th 2009

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!