Benjamin Britten: The Holy Sonnets of John Donne Op. 35 and other songs (Hyperion Audio CD)

Special Offer  

RRP: £15.95
Now: £13.56

Catalogue No: CDA66823
Shop Product Code: 2573944

Status: Usually despatched within 10 - 12 working days

Department: CDs - Save up to 15% - Classical CDs

Publisher: Select Music

More Product Details

More Product Details

Ian Bostridge (tenor)
Graham Johnson (piano)

Recording details: June 1995
St Paul's Church, New Southgate, London, United Kingdom


Contents and Reviews

The Holy Sonnets of John Donne Op 35:
Oh my blacke Soule!
Batter my heart
O might those sighes and teares
Oh, to vex me
What if this present
Since she whom I loved
At the round earth's imagined corners
Thou hast made me
Death, be not proud

Lord! I have sinned (Humfrey/Britten)
Hymn to God the Father (Humfrey/Britten) 'Wilt thou forgive that Sin, where I began?
A Hymn on Divine Musick (Croft/Britten) 'What art thou? From what causes dost thou spring?'
This way to the tomb (Britten)
Night covers up the rigid land (Britten)
Fish in the unruffled lakes (Britten)
To lie flat on the back with the knees flexed (Britten)
A Poison Tree (Britten) 'I was angry with my friend'
When you're feeling like expressing your affection (Britten)
Not even summer yet (Britten)
The Red Cockatoo (Britten) 'Sent as a present from Annam'
Wild with passion 'Song on the water' (Britten)
If thou wilt ease thine heart 'Dirge for Wolfram' (Britten)
Cradle Song for Eleanor (Britten) 'Sleep, my darling, sleep'
Birthday Song for Erwin (Britten) 'See how the sun'
Um Mitternacht (Britten)