Byrd, William: Cantiones Sacrae (1575) (Byrd Edition Volume 1)

Bulk Discounts Available

$84.90 * each

$76.41 * if you buy 10 + (10% off)

$72.16 * if you buy 30 + (15% off)

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: B363
Shop Product Code: 2280218
Cantiones Sacrae (1575) (Byrd Edition Volume 1)

Status: Usually shipped within 7-10 days

Editor: Monson, Craig

Department: Choral - Choral Vocal Score

Publisher: Stainer & Bell

More Product Details

More Product Details

Lavishly produced, the 1575 Cantiones, quae ab argumento sacrae vocantur by Byrd and Tallis celebrated not only the composers’ acquisition of the royal patent for the printing and marketing of part-music and lined music paper, but also their mastery of the continental polyphonic style. Though the edition was only moderately successful, a number of Byrd’s 17 motets in 5 and 6 parts survived in manuscript sources until the Commonwealth period. Three motets were also adapted to English words.

Contents and Reviews


Aspice Domine quai facta est (SSAATB) Attollite portas (SSAATB) Da mihi auxilium (SAATTB) Diliges Dominum (SSAATTBB) Domine secundum actum meum (SAATTB) Emendemus in melius (SATTB) Gloria Patri (SSATTB) Laudate pueri Dominum (SAATBB) Libera me Domine de morta aeterna (SAATB) Libera me Domine et pone me (SAATB) Memento homo (SAATTB) Miserere mihi Domine (SAATTB) O lux beata Trinitas (SSAATB) Peccantem me quotidie (SATTB) Siderum rector (SSATB) Te deprecor (SSATTB) Tribue Domine (SSATTB)