$84.53 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: M060052606
ISMN: 9790060052606
Shop Product Code: 1989174
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
Concerto for Band

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Department: Orchestral & Band - Concert/Wind Band

Instrumentation: Symphonic Band (score & parts)

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes (New York)

More Product Details

More about this work

More Product Details

This particular work was commissioned for the Festival of Britain in 1951 and is the largest and probably the most widely known of Jacob's works for band. It has rightly become a classic. Its eleven movements are shared by a fanfare brass group (four trumpets and three trombones) and the full band. The brass group play the odd-numbered movements (Interludes), except for the Finale when both forces combine. The Interludes seem to hark back to Tudor times in character, in contrast to the movements for full band which clearly belong to the present day. The work contains much memorable music, such as the masterly Round of Seven Parts for the brass group and the March for band which cleverly combines the March and Trio themes in the final section. The work contains plenty of good tunes and the musicians here give it a sparkling performance.



Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!