Peter Maxwell Davies: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra (Miniature Score)

$22.63 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: CH55780
Shop Product Code: 1679274
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra (Miniature Score)

Status: Usually despatched within 10 - 12 working days

Department: Full Scores & Study Scores - Pocket & Study Scores

Instrumentation: Violin, Orchestra

Publisher: Chester Music

More Product Details

More Product Details

The miniature score of Concerto for Violin and Orchestra by Peter Maxwell Davies.
This work was commissioned by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra to celebrate its 40th birthday. The first performance took place in June 1986 at St. Magnus' Cathedral, Kirkwall, as part of the tenth St. Magnus Festival.
Written for and first performed by Isaac Stern, Davies's Violin Concerto brings together two streams in his music: symphonism and folk-fiddling. In its strongly developed substance, it asks to be measured in the company of Beethoven, Brahms and Sibelius, while there is also, particularly in the middle movement, a strong element of the Scots lament. The orchestra is generally muted in colour, though there is a dramatic role for the timpanist.

There are three movements, played without a break - this is only one of many connections with the Mendelssohn Violin Concerto.

Duration c. 30mins.


Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!