• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

Dvorák’s “String Quintet in G major” op. 77, had five movements when it was premiered on 18 March 1876. Its second movement was the “Intermezzo” from his “String Quartet in E minor” (1870). Later Dvorák removed this movement from the quintet, expanded it, and published it as a separate “Notturno” for string orchestra op. 40. The “Intermezzo” is included in its original version in the appendix of the score.

This edition is based on the “Complete Edition of the Works of Antonín Dvorák”, the principal source being the first edition of 1888, for which Dvorák subjected the work to revision.

• Dvorák’s famous quintet with double bass
• New detailed foreword by Dvorák scholar David Beveridge (Eng/Cz/Ger)
• Musical text based on the “Complete Edition of the Works of Antonín Dvorák” (series IV, vol. 8)

You may be interested in

Also By This Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications