$16.01 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 0571517145
Shop Product Code: 123687N
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
Elegy (Study Score)

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Subtitle: In Memoriam William Morris

Department: Full Scores & Study Scores - Pocket & Study Scores

Publisher: Faber Music

More Product Details

More Product Details

Holst's Symphony in F: The Cotswold Op.8 (H.47) was composed in 1899 and 1900 and given what was in all probability its only performance in 1902 by the Bournemouth Municipal Orchestra conducted by Dan Godfrey (this was the first professional performance of any of Holst's orchestral works). The manuscript of the symphony is in the British Library. The music is uneven, and only in the second movement, 'Elegy', was Holst equal to his ambition: his feelings for Williams Moris, whom he heard lecture, and in whose London house he rehearsed the Hammersmith Socialist Choir, inspired a heartfelt tribute. Morris died in 1896; he lived at Kelmscott Manor in Oxfordshire, on the edge of the Cotswolds, from 1871 until his death.

Published by Faber Music.

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!