• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

SOMM Recordings is proud to release this album of Elgar recordings, including the first-ever release of Elgar's april, 1933 recording of Elegy, Op. 58 with the BBC Symphony Orchestra. In August, 1933, Elgar recorded teh work for a second time with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and it was this recording that was released shortly after Elgar's death in 1934. In 2015, a test pressing of the earlier recording was discovered and is now being released for the first time. There is no doubt that this recording has more energy with a greater sense of "line" and ebb-and-flow than the later performance and its neglect by Elgar and HMV is something of a mystery. In addition, this album contains a recording of the composer's Sonatina, played by its dedicatee, Elgar's niece, May Grafton. Privately recorded in 1958 at her home by the Elgar biographer, Jerrold Northrop Moore, this is an enchanting reminder of a close relationship that flourished particularly when Miss Grafton acted as Elgar's secretary. The great violinist Albert Sammons performed the Elgar concerto with the composer over many years. However, they were each contracted to different record labels so in 1929 Sammons recorded teh concerto complete with the New Queen's Hall orchestra, led by Sir Henry Wood. Sixteen years earlier, Sammons and Wood made the first recording of the concerto in a version cut by Wood to fit on four sides of 78rpm discs. This recording has not been reproduced in any other form since its release in 1916, until now.

You may be interested in


  • Various
    Berliner Nächte. Folge 3 (CD Only)
  • Various
    Berliner Nächte. Folge 2 (CD Only)

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications