Edward Elgar: Pomp & Circumstance March No.1 Op 39 (score & parts)

$40.57 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: GMCL137
Shop Product Code: 180085S
Pomp & Circumstance March No.1 Op 39 (score & parts)

Status: Usually shipped within 10 - 12 working days

Arranger: Ling, Richard

Department: Orchestral & Band - Youth Orchestra

Publisher: Goodmusic

More Product Details

More Product Details

Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in A or Bb, Bass clarinet*, 2 Bassoons
2 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in Bb, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Timpani, Percussion (Snare drum, Triangle, Bass drum, Cymbals)
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Bass)
(* = instruments optional)

Of Elgar´s five Pomp and Circumstance Marches, the first in D is the best known as it includes Land of Hope and Glory.

The origin of the title of these marches is a speech in Shakespeare´s "Othello":
O now, for ever/ Farewell the tranquil mind! farewell content!/ Farewell the plumed troops and the big wars/That makes ambition virtue!/ O farewell!/ Farewell the neighing steed and the shrill trump,/The spirit-stirring drum, th´ ear-piercing fife,/ The royal banner, and all quality,/Pride, pomp, and circumstance of glorious war!

This arrangement has been made to make it more accessible to the average orchestra; the instruments marked with an asterisk in the orchestration list above may be omitted if necessary.

Duration: 6 minutes

A PACK comprises one full score, string parts 4/4/3/4/2 and any wind, brass and percussion parts.

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!