Edward Elgar: Salut D'amour - Score & Parts pack

$32.14 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: GMCL151
Shop Product Code: 254291Z
Salut D'amour - Score & Parts pack

Status: Usually despatched within 10 - 12 working days

Department: Orchestral & Band - Full Orchestral

Publisher: Goodmusic

More Product Details

More Product Details

Flute, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in A or Bb, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns in F
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello, Double Bass)

In the summer of 1888, Edward Elgar went for a holiday with a long-standing friend, Dr Charles Buck of Settle, Yorkshire. As he left, his fiancee, Alice, gave him a poem she had written entitled Love's Grace. Whilst in Yorkshire, Edward wrote a short piece for her which he called Liebesgruss (Love's Greeting). On his return from holiday, Elgar presented the work to his wife and proposed to her. They married at the Brompton Oratory in London in May 1889.

Elgar submitted three versions of the work (solo piano, violin and piano, and an orchestral arrangement) to the music publishers Schott who bought the work outright for two guineas. The work sold slowly at first but when Schott retitled the work (with Elgar's approval) as "Salut d'Amour", the French title helped to improve international sales and it gradually achieved the popularity that it still enjoys today.
This edition is as Elgar composed it, save for some minor editorial tidying-up.

Duration: 3 minutes

A PACK comprises one full score, string parts 4/4/3/4/2 and any wind, brass and percussion parts.

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!