$77.82 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: M202532348
ISMN: 9790202532348
Shop Product Code: 2491352
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
ISBN: 978-3-7931-4088-7
Epitaphs (2010)

Status: Usually despatched within 24 - 48 hours

Department: Chamber - String Quintets & Sextets

Instrumentation: (Score & parts)

Publisher: Bote & Bock

More Product Details

More about this work

More Product Details

Perfect Pairing

Dense movement structures dialogizing in pairs and a darkened overall sound are what Mozart, Schubert and Brahms already thought to be fascinating in the genre of string quartet. Following this tradition, the composer and violist Brett Dean created ‘Epitaphs’, an homage to five recently departed colleagues and friends to each of whom is dedicated one movement of the 20-minute work. Premiered at the Cheltenham Festival 2010 by Dean and the Australian String Quartet, ‘Epitaphs’ was acclaimed by the press as ‘a superb and welcome modern addition to the string quintet repertoire’ (The Classical Review).


Contents and Reviews


- I. Only I will know (... in memory of Dorothy Porter) - II. Walk a little way with me (... in memory of Lyndal Holt) - III. Der Philosoph (... in memory of Jan Diesselhorst) - IV. György meets the "Girl Photographer" (... in memmory of Betty Freeman, hommage à György Ligeti) - V. Between the spaces in the sky (... in memory of Richard Hickox)