Fauré, Gabriel: Élégie op. 24 for Violoncello and Piano - Urtext Edition

$10.07 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: HN563
Shop Product Code: 260859T
Élégie op. 24 for Violoncello and Piano - Urtext Edition

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Editor: Monnier, Jean-Christophe

Department: Strings - Cello

Publisher: Henle

More Product Details

More Product Details

Following the enthusiastic reception of his first Violin Sonata, it was clear to Fauré that he would continue to write chamber music. In 1880 he wrote a little piece for cello and piano that was intended as the slow movement for a sonata. However, Fauré gave up the sonata project, instead publishing the piece under the title “Élégie”. It was so successful that Fauré was urged by the publisher to write further pieces. The conductor Édouard Colonne commissioned a version of the “Élégie” for orchestra in 1895, which was premièred two years later. As usual, Henle's Urtext edition contains both a marked and an unmarked solo part.

Fingering: Pascal Rogé
Fingering and bowing for Violoncello: David Geringas

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!